Wednesday, July 23, 2014


Singapore League Cup Finals

Plate Final - 24/07 Tampines Rovers v Balestier Khalsa
Cup Final - 25/07 Tanjong Pagar v DPMM

Both ties to be played at Jalan Besar Stadium.

DPMM making their third consecutive appearance in the final; they lost to Balestier Khalsa last year and defeated Geylang 2-0 the year before. They also won the Cup back in 2009. In fact, Balestiers success last year was the first time a Singapore team had won the pissant little pot since 2008 when Gombak United had won it, defeating Korean Super Reds in the final.

In fact, it does seem the local clubs don't really care too much about it judging by the finalists over the years.

2007 Woodlands v Sengkang Punggol 4-0
2008 Gombak United v KSR 2-1
2009 DPMM v SAFFC 1-1 (DPMM win on pens)
2010 Etoile v Woodlands 3-1
2011 Albirex Niigata v Hougang United 0-0 (AN win on penalties)
2012 DPMM v Geylang 2-0
2013 Balestier Khalsa v DPMM 4-0

Then we have that Plate nonsense

2012 Balestier Khalsa v Young Lions 1-0
2013 Harimau Muda v Young Lions 2-0

Coming next season, losers will compete for the Cheese Grater, the Soup Spoon and the Napkins.

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?