Monday, June 25, 2012


Semen Padang Crowned IPL Champions

The Indonesia Premier League finally has a champion. After aborting halfway through last season and facing a players' strike this season for not paying salaries, Semen Padang were crowned champions. They defeated Persiraja 3-1 at the H Agus Salim Stadium in Padang yesterday in front of an estimated 23,000 fans.

It makes for a Sumatran double as Sriwijaya won the Indonesia Super League a few days earlier.

Two quick goals would have settled the nerves. First Ferdinand Sinaga on 23 minutes then the prolific Edward Wilson Junior two minutes later.

Wilson added a second seven minutes before the end before Erik Saputra pulled one back in injury time.

1 - Semen Padang 21 12 7 2 43-21 43

15 - Ferdinand Sinaga (Semen Padang)
13 - Edward Wilson Junior (Semen Padang)

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?