Saturday, November 05, 2011


Inter Island Cup 2011

The IIC is back for a second season and it is a perfect microcosm of football in Indonesia at the moment. Last year it was run by the official body that ran competitive football, Liga Indonesia. This year the same people run it but they are no longer official and the people at the new official body are a bit pissed that teams supposed to be entering their competitions are entering what is in effect a competition run by their rivals.

Some notable absences in the 12 team competition. Last year's winners, Sriwijaya, are while Persib are absent as are Arema.

The group stage will be held in three cities, Samarinda, Lamongan and Karawang and games will last 45 minutes while the final will be the normal 90 minutes.

Competing teams; Persisam, Mitra Kukar, Persiba (Samarinda), Persipura, PSPS, Deltras (Lamongan), Pelita Jaya, Persidafon and Sriwijaya (Karawang)

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?