Sunday, February 20, 2011


ASEAN Competitions 2011

VIENTIANE (19 Feb 2011) – Laos and Indonesia will each host two tournaments of the AFF this year – following the decisions of the AFF Council this afternoon in Kuala Lumpur.

Laos, who had successfully organised the qualifying round of the AFF Suzuki Cup last year, will host the AFF Under-16 Championship and also the AFF Women’s Football Championship.

The AFF U16 Championship 2011, in preparation for the AFC qualifiers, will be held on 7-17 July 2011 with the following groupings.

GROUP A: Laos, Thailand, Malaysia, Timor Leste, Indonesia

GROUP B: Myanmar, Vietnam, Singapore, Cambodia, Philippines

Also in Vientiane would be the AFF Women’s Football Championship which will be held in the second week of October.

The participating teams for this meet are Indonesia, Singapore, Thailand, Philippines, Myanmar, Malaysia, Laos and Vietnam.

Indonesia, who were co-hosts of the AFF Suzuki Cup final round, will organise the AFF Futsal Championship and also the AFF Under-23 Championship.

The AFF Futsal Championship which will be a one-round league format, will be held in Jakarta in the second week of April 2011.

The teams taking part are Indonesia, Myanmar, Vietnam, Philippines, Malaysia and Thailand.

In the meantime, the AFF U23 meet which will most likely be held in Palembang will be held on 18-24 July 2011.

The tournament which is being used in preparation for the SEA Games this year see five teams taking part and they are Indonesia, Singapore, Philippines, Myanmar and Timor Leste.

The only remaining tournament this year is the AFF Under-19 Championship which will be hosted by Myanmar on 1-10 September 2011.

The groupings for the tournament are as follows:

GROUP A: Thailand, Singapore, Philippines, Malaysia

GROUP B: Myanmar, Indonesia, Laos, Vietnam

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?