Saturday, January 31, 2009


Malaysian FA Cup 1st round

Domestic football returns to the spotlight in Malaysia after the national side lost 5-0 at home to UAE and the coach said the local game wasn't real football.

It's 1st round day in the FA Cup with MSL sides up against MPL sides apart from Johor FC who make the long journey to Penang.

Last season's winners Kedah have a bye through to the next round as do Selangor but 2006 winners Pahang host Selangor PKNS while My Team take on Proton.

In an early game early MSL leaders KL Plus surprisingly lost 2-0 to Harimau Muda.

Previous winners

2008 - Kedah
2007 - Kedah
2006 - Pahang
2005 - Selangor
2004 - Perak

The FA Cup started in 1990 and Selangor have been the most successful having won it four times. KL and Kedah have each won it three times while Perak, Sabah and Perlis have each been runners up thrice.

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?