Monday, October 12, 2015


Musafri Sets Up Sriwijaya Final Against Persib

Well, that may have surprised many people. After a 1-1 draw in the first leg in Malang between Arema and Sriwijaya and a second leg controversially switched from Palembang to Solo more than one person felt the President Cup was set fair for a final between Persib and Arema.

Benny Dollo's Srwijaya had other days though. They returned to their old home town, before South Sumatra bought the license they were known as Persijatim and had a stint in Solo.

Played in front of a full house, both sides fielded strong sides but it was Sriwijaya who came out on top and set themselves on target for their first piece of silverware since 2012*.

They took the lead just before half time through Asri Akbar and though on loan striker Lancine Kone pulled one back for Arema in the second half the experienced TA Musafri made it 2-1 within five minutes and after a nervy final few minutes Sriwijaya held on for a famous victory.

After the game the Arema coach did not blame the ref. I repeat the losing coach in a football match did not blame the ref. In fact he admitted his side did not play will never catch on, this honesty lark.

They will now play Persib in the final at a venue to be confirmed. It was hoped to play the game in Jakarta at Bung Karno but with Persib playing that now seems unlikely. The ISL champions had lost the first leg of their semi final 1-0 away to Mitra Kukar but back on their home turf they ended up 2-1 winners.

Sriwijaya : Dian Agus; Abdoulaye Maiga, Fachruddin, Wildansyah, Fathul Rahman; Asri Akbar, Yu Hyun Koo, Syakir Sulaiman; TA Mushafry, Patrich Wanggai, Titus Bonai.
Subs : Yogi Triana, Ichsan Kurniawan, Manda Cingi, Rizsky Dwi, Jecky Arisandi, Yohanis Nabar, Ngurah Nanak.

Arema : Kurnia Meiga; Fabiano Beltrame, Purwaka, Alfarizie, Hasyim Kipuw; Juan Revi, Ferry Aman, Lancine Kone; Samsul Arif, Cristian Gonzales, Dendi Santoso.
Subs : I Made Wardana, Benny Wahyudi, Suroso, Sukadana, Hendro Siswanto, Morimakan Koita, Arif Suyono.

* Sriwijaya honours

Liga Indonesia - 2007/2008
Super League - 2011/2012
Copa Indonesia - 2008, 2009, 2010
Inter Island Cup - 2010, 2012

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?