Thursday, October 25, 2012


IPL Play Offs

Next month will finally see closure on the Indonesia Premier League, it ended back in July, when the final play offs will decide which teams will compete in the official top flight next year.

For those who have forgotten Semen Padang were the first ever winners of the IPL in its second season; the first season went on a mid season break and never returned while PSMS were relegated to Divisi Utama.

The three teams that finished top of their respective Divisi Utama regional divisions were automatically promoted; Pro Duta, Persepar Palangkarya and Perseman Manokwari.

Last season’s IPL featured 12 teams. With one down and three promoted so far that makes, um, 14. The IPL hope to have 16 teams next season so the teams that finished second in their respective divisions will go into a play off with Bontang, who finished 11th in the IPL with the top two joining the top flight.

The play offs, to be played in either Medan or Manado during the AFF Cup, see Bontang joined by PSLS, PSIR and Persebul Buol.

None of this is fixed in stone. IPL champions Semen Padang have asked to join the ISL, which no doubt would see them precluded from playing in the AFC Champions League, as have Persijap Jepara. If they were to jump ship that would of course mean another two teams to join the IPL.

To add to the confusion Persija IPL have been told by the courts they can no longer use the Persija name. 

Anyone with enough sarnies to make a picnic would have known this. Persija IPL were forced to play their home games in Madiun because the fans of Persija ISL refused to accept them in Jakarta. Apparently Persija IPL are appealing which proves the lengths people go to when they have someone else’s money.

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?