Sunday, February 05, 2017


Persipura Dominate But PSS Fans Earn Plaudits

President Cup

PSS v Persipura 0-0 31,620

This was the opening game of the President Cup 2017 and it was so dominated by the visitors the 0-0 would have surprised most. However the man of the match would have been the PSS fans who put on such an impressive display on the terraces everyone from the President of Indonesia to a leading Arema fan website was left purring.

Mitra Kukar v Gresik United 1-0 (Oh Inkyun)

It was left to Korean Oh Inkyun to score the first goal of the President Cup in the dying embers of first half injury time The win means Mitra Kukar top Group A with three points. I'm sure you can work the rest out!

Arema v Bhayangkara 2-0 (Esteban Vizcarra, Dendi Santoso) 7,223

Two teams with new coaches it was Bhayangkara who blinked first in what is/was ostensibly an East Java derby when I Putu Gede walked after receiving a second yellow on 51 minutes. Within 10 minutes Vizcarra was on the score sheet and Dendi made it 2-0 with 13 minutes remaining.

It was a sombre occasion for Arema keeper Kurnia Meiga who wore the number 47 shirt in honour of his elder brother who sadly passed away recently.

When these two sides met in the Indonesia Soccer Championship last year more than 29,000 watched the game. There were less that 25% of that number this time around continuing a trend of falling attendances to hit Arema in recent months.

Persija v PS TNI 1-0 (Rudi Widodo) 581

More than a few people have remarked on Persija's lack of numbers up top. They went into this game with Widodo making his debut for the club and Chilean Christopher Arriagada trialling. Widodo scored the winner on 92 minutes against PS TNI fielding foreign players for the first time. Indeed had another debutant Mamadou Barry's effort on 29 minutes not been disallowed by the officials there could have been a very different outcome to the game.

As it is Persija are second on goal difference but will surely continue to struggle until they can solve their shortages in the striking department.

Malaysia Super League

Felda United v Kedah 1-1 (Hadin Azman; Ken Ilso) 6,211

PKNS v Selangor 5-3 (Patrick Wleh 3, Safee Sali, Matias Hadwa; Syami Safari, Francis Forkey Doe) 6,113

Perak v Melaka United 3-2 (Thiago Di Aquino, Yashir Pinto, Vladislav Mirchev; Jeon Woo Young, Izzaq Faris Ramlan)

T Team v Penang 1-0 (Mahamadou Samassa) 821

Sarawak v Pahang 0-1 (Chinedu Bright Ezendu) 8,011

1 - Pahang 3 2 1 0 7-1 7
2 - Perak 3 2 1 0 5-3 7
3 - Kedah 3 1 2 0 5-4 5

Malaysia Premier League

Terengganu v MISC-MIFA 2-1 4,670
Kuantan v PDRM 3-1 383
Negeri Sembilan v PKNP 3-1 3,643
KL v UiTM 1-1 375
Perlis v Sabah 1-3 1,400
ATM v JDT II 1-5 232

1 - Kuala Lumpur 3 2 1 0 5-3 7
2 - Terengganu 3 2 1 0 3-1 7

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?