Thursday, May 24, 2007


Copa Indonesia - some background

This season's Copa seems haphazard in it's organization so I thought I'd do some research and thanks to Atsushi Fujioka and Novan Herfiyana over at I learnt heaps.

Although the Copa started in 1985 this years version is only the 10th to have been organised. Indeed after a gap of several years it only started up again back in 2005 since when Arema Malang have held on to it in a vice like grip. I won't bother detailing all the name changes either but below follows is a list of winners and runners ups...

1985 Arseto Solo v Mercu Buana Medan 3-0
1986 Makassar Utama v NIAC Mitra Surabaya
1987 Krama Yudha Tiga Berlian Palembang v Pelita Jaya Jakarta 2-0
1988 Krama Yudha Tiga Berlian Palembang v Pelita Jaya Jakarta
1989 Krama Yudha Tiga Berlian Bekasi v Pelita Jaya Jakarta 2-1
1992 Semen Padang v Arema Malang 1-0
1994 Gelora Dewata Denpaser
2005 Arema Malang v Persija Jakarta 4-3
2006 Arema Malang v Persipura Jayapura 2-0

A couple of trends emerge or perhaps illustrate the transient nature of football here. Pelita Jaya of course today play in Purwakarta but just a couple of years back were based in Cilegon! Where next one wonders? Krama Yudha Tiga Berlian moved from Palembang to Bekasi and back again! I have no idea about the '94 final, who the opponents were etc. I guess there was no match day programme available! And with appeareances in three of the last four finals you could say Arema have all the makings of a true Cup side!

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?