Tuesday, April 05, 2016


Persipura Prepare For Life Without Boas

A new era dawns for Persipura, the Black Pearls, who have dominated Indonesian football for the best part of a decade. New coach Jafri Sastra must prepare for the Indonesian Soccer Championship without Boas Solossa, for so long inextricably intertwined with the club and their successes.

With Solossa finally making the move overseas, though to the earthy delights of Timor Leste rather than the more traditional Malaysia, Sastra has had to plan for a season with a different talisman.

As befitting the stability that has underpinned much of the Black Pearls glory days he hasn't made wholesale changes to the squad. Instead he has brought a couple of familiar faces back to the fold. Goalkeeper Yoo Jae Hoon has returned after a short stint with Pusamania Borneo while Bio Paulin will also be back on familiar ground after playing for PS Polri during the Bhayangkara Cup.

Midfielder Robertino is one noticeable departure, heading to Persib for the ISC campaign that begins at the end of next week while James Koko Lommel, an experienced striker who has done the rounds in Indonesia, has been brought in to add firepower up front in the absence of Boas.

Beyond those there is little change to the Persipura squad with the usual mix of familiar names and promising young players. Without Boas perhaps we may get to see more of Ian Louis Kabes? He has been a regular for donkey years but has rarely attracted the headlines like his more illustrious team mate and perhaps now is the time for him to step out of the shadow.

Another player who will be looking to make an impression in the post Boas era is Lukas Mandowen who has managed to find the net on a regular basis over the years when called upon.

Yoo Jae Hoon, Dede Sulaiman, Ferdiansyah, Rijal Montaly, Ruben Sanadi, Izaac Wanggai, Petrus Paitoni Towolom, Andri Ibo, Marianus Wanemar, Bio Paulin, Yohanies Tjoe, Nelson Alom, Nerius Alom, Ricky Kayame, Muhammad Tahir, Ronny Beroperay, Jaelani Arey, Dominggus Fakdawer, Yance Wenda, Yan Piterson Sama, Yustinus Pae, Osvaldo Haay, Ian Louis Kabes, Lukas Mandowen, Ferinando Pahabol, James Koko Lomel.

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?